Ash Wednesday

I sadly missed Pancake Day (or Shrove Tuesday, as some would have it) but given my work schedule at the moment I doubt I would have had time to make pancakes even if I had remembered. However, thanks to prompting from others, I have been planning my lenten fast for a while.

I shall give up alcohol for Lent this year. It will be difficult, since after a long day at work I look forward to a bottle of IPA when I get home, but there wouldn’t be any point if it weren’t. I shall ruin the symbolism by exchanging a Sunday of respite for a weekday in March but only because I shall be drinking champagne in celebration on that day, which those who know the reason would not begrudge me.

Published in: on February 17, 2010 at 8:13 am  Leave a Comment  

Leave a Reply

