Other Things

I have decided that I simply cannot cope with office jobs. None of my recent jobs have been particularly terrible. My last job was dull but well-paid and not at all stressful. I had plenty of time to do whatever I wanted (I went weeks without doing anything more productive than watching YouTube videos and reading and writing blogs) and I took long lunchbreaks in the pub. My current job is considerably more stressful and often involves long hours and working over the weekend but for all that it is at least quite challenging and interesting.

However, I just can’t stand offices. I hate sitting in an air-conditioned box with fluorescent lighting. I hate commuting to and from the same sterile building every day. I hate the repetition, the inhumanity of the whole construction.

Repetition. That is the key to my misery. When you work full-time for one company you always do the same bloody thing every day. Of course there is variety within the limits of the job – I frequently change projects and work for different clients – but it’s always essentially the same job. I never walk into the office on a Monday morning to be told, “No computers today, we need you to nip down to the British Library and research Merovingian legal codes.”

I’ve given up trying to find an acceptable office job on the grounds that there aren’t any. I’m going to work from home or not at all. I’m going to work remotely (that is, from anywhere with an internet connection) and I’m going to work part-time. I will be poor but I won’t be living anywhere as expensive as London. In my free time I shall write, read and dress up in tenth century clothing.

I am not destined for greater things, merely other things.

Published in: on February 1, 2009 at 1:37 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Brilliant.

  2. we should stage a pagan walk out and all quit out jobs on the same day.


Leave a Reply

